Kosher food is a term used to describe foods that are prepared according to Jewish dietary laws. The laws were developed centuries ago to ensure that Jews would not eat non-kosher foods such as pork, shellfish, and other meats that are forbidden by the Torah.

Today, kosher certification is required by law in many countries around the world. In fact, there are even kosher certifications that require strict adherence to the laws of kashrut.

Many people know about the more common ingredients that need to be Kosher certified, such as meat or dairy products. There are, however, ingredients that often get overlooked, but are considered very kosher sensitive. These ingredients do require certification in order to be considered truly kosher, and there are companies like Industrial Kosher that specialize in getting these special ingredients certified.

Corn Syrup

corn syrup and kosher certification

One ingredient that is considered sensitive is corn syrup. Corn syrup is derived from corn starch, which comes from grain. It has been shown that some strains of bacteria may grow in corn starch, making it unsafe to use without proper processing. This means that corn syrup must undergo additional testing before it can be sold as kosher.

Artificial Flavors

artificial flavors and kosher certification

There are also certain types of artificial flavorings that are considered kosher sensitive because they contain alcohol. Alcohols are naturally occurring substances that come from fermentation processes. Some examples include ethyl alcohol, propylene glycol, and isoamyl acetate. These alcohols are derived from natural sources like fruits, vegetables, herbs, beans, dairy, fish, etc.

Artificial flavors are used for flavoring various kinds of foods and beverages. Though they are not required by law to be labeled with their Kosher status we do recommend that they be listed so consumers can make informed choices about what is being added to their food products.

Ethanol (Ethyl Alcohol)

ethanol and kosher certification

Another example of a kosher-sensitive ingredient is ethanol. Ethanol is commonly used as a solvent in cleaning agents, paint thinners, nail polish removers, hair spray, and gasoline additives. It is also integral to the flavor and vinegar industries. Ethanol is produced naturally by fermenting and distilling grains molasses, citrus fruits, or wine. It can also be manufactured synthetically from petroleum. Because ethanol is derived from fermented grains, it cannot be classified as kosher. However, if it is processed properly, then it becomes safe to consume.

Fatty Acids

fatty acids and kosher certification

Fatty acids are another ingredient that must be kosher certified. Fatty acids are found in animal fats, vegetable oils, and milk fat. The possibility of an animal source and the complexity of the equipment on which fatty acids are produced renders the ingredient kosher sensitive. In order to be considered kosher, fatty acids must meet specific requirements set forth by the Orthodox Union. For instance, one type of fatty acid called caprylic acid is only allowed to be used in baked goods that have undergone an extended baking process. Another type of fatty acid called lauric acid is only permitted to be used in ice cream and frozen desserts.

Citric Acid

Citric acid power and kosher certification

Another kosher-sensitive ingredient is citric acid. Citric acid is widely used in both sweetened and unsweetened juices, pickles, salad dressings, and seasonings. Many times, manufacturers will add citric acid to their product simply to help preserve its freshness. Citric acid is made from citrus fruit peels. The OU requires that all forms of citric acid be tested for purity prior to sale. If any impurities are detected, the manufacturer must remove them through purification methods.

The list above is just a small sampling of the many different types of ingredients that are considered kosher sensitive, and there are many other ingredients that require kosher consideration. We encourage you to do extensive research if you think you might need kosher certification. If you do produce, sell or have any of these ingredients in your product, you will need to be certified kosher. If you would like to learn more about how to become certified please contact Industrial Kosher today. We offer free training courses on all aspects of becoming certified including how to find certified suppliers, how to obtain a kosher certificate, and much more!

Industrial Kosher

The scope of Kosher Law cannot be adequately captured on one page. Industrial Kosher offers services for many businesses in Texas and across the South. This includes those in the chemical, manufacturing, transportation, and food service industries. From the production of glycerin, the storage of food, and transportation for a wide variety of products, Industrial Kosher is helping businesses find cost-efficient kosher solutions. They also work hard to maintain the environment the company is working in. Industrial Kosher prides itself on being able to address the unique needs of every company. If you’re looking for more information on kosher certification in an industrial field, contact us today to learn more.